The Awakened Kingdom and Other Stories

The Awakened Kingdom and Other Stories

Illustration By Reiko Murakami

Dust jacket and interior illustrations by Reiko Murakami.

Note: Given the erratic behavior of the USPS at this time, we cannot be responsible for copies of The Awakened Kingdoms and Other Stories shipped via media mail. We urge you to choose Priority Mail or UPS, which we are comfortable standing behind.

Our edition of The Awakened Kingdoms and Other Stories will be oversized, printed in two colors throughout, with four full-color interior plates. 

The lettered edition will include an exclusive full-color gatefold illustration.

About the Book:

Encompassing a fresh-born godling’s origin story and three tales showing us Jemisin’s more familiar characters in their adventures beyond her novels’ pages, The Awakened Kingdom and Other Stories gives readers of The Inheritance Trilogy what we all long for: a return to its deep, wild magic. In the title novella we meet Shill, offspring of Yeine, Nahadoth, and ‘Papa Tempa’. All godlings have a true nature, and Shill is eager to discover hers. She’d better do it quickly, before she hurts or kills anyone irreversibly or ends up banished from the mortal realm.

Each part of “Shades in Shadow,” the triptych following Shill’s story, expands on a passage from the original trilogy. “The Wild Boy” tells how Nahadoth, god of night and chaos, comes to be shaped by a mortal as cruel and fascinating as himself. “The God Without a Name” is the voyage of Nahadoth’s once-human avatar through eternal whoredom and divine pimphood. In “The Third Why,” the demon Glee searches for the god who is her father and finds crucial answers to questions about her existence, her father’s fate, and how the world can be made better.

Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy received nominations for SFF’s coveted Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy awards, and her Broken Earth series won three Hugo Best Novel awards. She is a leading genre critic, for many years published in the New York Times. Jemisin’s profoundly original vision is as compelling as ever in this collection of interconnected wonders.

Lettered: 52 signed copies, specially bound, housed in a custom traycase

Limited: 400 signed numbered hardcover copies

Table of Contents:

  • The Awakened Kingdom
  • The Wild Boy
  • The God Without a Name
  • The Third Why


Reiko Murakami
N. K. Jemisin
176 pages
United States
Out of Print