Latest News

Announcing OTHER PEOPLE'S PLAYGROUNDS by Harry TurtledovePurchase Book

Announcing OTHER PEOPLE'S PLAYGROUNDS by Harry Turtledove

July 16

We’re delighted to announce Other People’s Playgrounds by Harry Turtledove, which collects a baker’s dozen stories, along with gorgeous dust jacket art by Lee Moyer.

Every now and then, writers get the chance to work in worlds they didn’t create. This is uniquely enjoyable; it gives a writer the chance to pretend to be someone else, or to riff on somebody else’s good idea. But these stories, however much fun they are to write, often fall by the wayside once written. They’re neither fish nor fowl, not wholly the product of the writer or of the person who devised the setup he or she is using.

Other People’s Playgrounds collects thirteen such stories. Harry Turtledove has fun in the worlds of writers as diverse as H. P. Lovecraft and Isaac Asimov, Poul Anderson and Jerome K. Jerome, Philip José Farmer and S.M. Stirling, or J.D. Salinger and Fred Saberhagen.

What might happen if the Three Men of Three Men in a Boat ran into a vampire or a werewolf? What was the fall of the mighty imperial world, Trantor, in Asimov’s Foundation universe really like? And what did Martin Padway, the resourceful hero of L. Sprague de Camp’s Lest Darkness Fall, forget till almost too late? The stories in Other People’s Playgrounds answer questions like these and more.

Jade City Preorder Viewing

21st May 2024

Jade City Preorder Viewing

Hi everyone,We will soon be making Jade City available for an exclusive preorder to people who purchased Jade Shards from us.Because many customers have not used our exclusive preorder system, we are allowing eligible customers to view the page before the product is made live. This way they can make sure they are able to log in.The Jade City product page is now only visible to eligible accoun
Connie Willis' LINCOLN'S DREAMS Shipping Now

19th May 2024

Connie Willis' LINCOLN'S DREAMS Shipping Now

The initial shipping wave of Connie Willis' first, deeply affecting novel, Lincoln’s Dreams, is now complete. Our edition was printed in two colors throughout, with a full-color wraparound dust jacket, full-color endpapers, and a chapter head illustration by Marcela Bolivar. About the Book: A historian by training, Jeff Johnston works for a famed author who writes exclusively Civil War novels, t
LOGICAL FANTASY by John Wyndham Shipping

19th May 2024

LOGICAL FANTASY by John Wyndham Shipping

Logical Fantasy: The Many Worlds of John Wyndham contains 18 stories that generously fill more than 400 pages. We've finished sending preorders out the door, which makes this a great time to pick up a copy.To further entice you, here are pull quotes from a pair of laudatory reviews:“Wyndham (1903–1969) is best remembered for the splashy movie adaptations of his works (including Village of the Damned and The
Ben Aaronovitch's THE MASQUERADES OF SPRING Sent to the Printer

19th May 2024

Ben Aaronovitch's THE MASQUERADES OF SPRING Sent to the Printer

Ben Aaronovitch's newest Rivers of London novella, The Masquerades of Spring has been sent to the printer, and should be published simultaneously with UK edition in September.As an added bonus, our edition includes an exclusive endsheet map and six full-page interior illustrations available nowhere else.Please note that a very few copies of the lettered edition are now available for general preorder.
Annoucing THE DESTROYER OF WORLDS by Matt Ruff

14th May 2024

Annoucing THE DESTROYER OF WORLDS by Matt Ruff

In his novel Lovecraft Country, the basis for the celebrated HBO series, Matt Ruff introduced us to the Turners, a black family living in 1950s Chicago, and their twin struggles against the occult Order of the Ancient Dawn and the more mundane terrors of Jim Crow-era racism. Now, in The Destroyer of Worlds, Ruff continues the story and explores the meaning of death, the hold of the past on the present
Announcing SCHEMES & SCANDALS by Kelley Armstrong

14th May 2024

Announcing SCHEMES & SCANDALS by Kelley Armstrong

We’re pleased to announce Schemes & Scandals, a long new time travel novella by Kelley Armstrong set in the world of her novel, A Rip Through Time.About the Book:It’s Mallory Atkinson’s first Christmas in Scotland. Victorian Scotland, that is. Also, as the twenty-first-century detective learns, Christmas really isn’t a thing in Victorian Scotland. It’s all about Hogmanay. But her boss, Dr. Duncan Gray, trea
TIME OUT by Michael Marshall Smith Shipping Now!

14th May 2024

TIME OUT by Michael Marshall Smith Shipping Now!

Michael Marshall Smith's terrifying internal novella, Time Out, is in stock and shipping. You wake up and the world is different.Not in the disaster movie sense, but much more painful and purposeful—almost sinister.In the tradition of Lonely Road, Gone, The Disappearance and I Am Legend comes Michael Marshall Smith's Time Out, a brand new novella of displacement and unease.Imagine waking up, as normal, but
Announcing LINCOLN'S DREAMS by Connie Willis

5th May 2024

Announcing LINCOLN'S DREAMS by Connie Willis

We’re pleased to present a signed limited edition of Connie Willis’ acclaimed debut novel, Lincoln’s Dreams. Our edition will be printed in two colors throughout, with a full-color wraparound dust jacket, full-color endpapers, and a chapter head illustration by Marcela Bolivar. The limited edition is already in our warehouse and should ship later this month. About the Book: A historian by trai