Logical Fantasy: The Many Worlds of John Wyndham eBook

Logical Fantasy: The Many Worlds of John Wyndham eBook

eBook Edition
Illustration By Bob Eggleton
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Amazon   Barnes and Noble   Kobo

Cover illustration by Bob Eggleton

Introduction by Michael Marshall Smith.


We’re thrilled to announce Logical Fantasy: The Many Worlds of John Wyndham, a huge collection which includes five previously uncollected stories.


Any revival, rediscovery, or reappraisal of the singular work of John Wyndham is cause for celebration, and Logical Fantasy: The Many Worlds of John Wyndham brings treasures aplenty to the table―a rich sampler of the variant voices of a single writer who remains a lynchpin in the genre of the fantastic.

John Wyndham Lucas Parkes Beynon Harris was long considered the “invisible man” of science fiction due to his reclusive nature and disinclination toward publicity. Distinctly British yet with breakthrough appeal to American readers matched only by George Orwell, Wyndham thrived trans-Atlantically during the heyday of the digest-sized magazines, under his own name as well as a variety of recombinant pseudonyms which allowed him to “collaborate with himself” as he first planted boots in the sci-fi pulps of the 1930s.

As “John Beynon” (or John B.) Harris, he debuted this collection's first tale, “The Lost Machine,” in Amazing Stories, and followed with sales to Wonder Stories, Fantasy, and New Worlds up until World War II provided an interruption and hiatus.

After the war years, Wyndham wholly recreated himself. The 1950s brought a decade-long run of novels that made him globally famous and redefined science fiction. Through it all, the short stories continued, always startling, always thought-provoking.

The seed of his all-time classic The Day of the Triffids is found here in “Spheres of Hell” (also known as “The Puffball Menace”).

By the 1960s he was firing on all cylinders ― cogent, innovative stuff such as “Odd” (which debuted in the spellbinding Consider Her Ways and Others) and “The Asteroids, 2194” (part of his pastiche novel of the space-faring Troon dynasty, The Outward Urge).

It is the magazines, pulps and digests, from Thrilling Wonder Stories to Argosy, that provide the bulk of these oddities and rediscoveries, now gathered under one roof here for your pleasure ― including five previously uncollected tales.

Only five collections were published during Wyndham's lifetime. Following his death in 1969 a number of short fiction assemblies appeared, but the most recent of these was twenty years ago. Hence, the time has come for Logical Fantasy as primer, tribute, and reminder of one of the genre's major, lasting talents.


From Publishers Weekly:

“Wyndham (1903–1969) is best remembered for the splashy movie adaptations of his works (including Village of the Damned and The Day of the Triffids), but this impressive retrospective of 18 speculative shorts demonstrates his skill working at a more intimate scale. He finds the human side of cosmic catastrophe (‘The Eternal Eve’), even when the victim is a homesick robot (‘The Lost Machine’) or a lovelorn dragon (‘Chinese Puzzle’)…Wyndham’s fantastic imagination is undeniable. Anyone looking to round out their collection of SFF classics will want to snap this up.”


From Locus:

“By this point, though, we’ve come to appreciate that the real strength of Wyndham’s stories are not the gimmicks or the sense-of-wonder gotcha moments, but the increasingly graceful prose, the ingenious structures, and the credible, sympathetic characters faced with oddities, paradoxes, and mysteries. It’s a long ride from those pulp beginnings, and something of a shame that Wyndham’s best short fiction – of which this is only a sampler – remains almost unknown today.”


Table of Contents:

  • Introduction by Michael Marshall Smith
  • The Lost Machine
  • Spheres of Hell
  • The Man from Beyond
  • Beyond the Screen
  • Child of Power
  • The Living Lies
  • The Eternal Eve
  • Pawley's Peepholes
  • The Wheel
  • Survival
  • Chinese Puzzle
  • Perforce to Dream
  • Never on Mars
  • Compassion Circuit
  • Brief to Counsel
  • Odd
  • The Asteroids, 2194
  • A Stitch in Time




Bob Eggleton
John Wyndham
342 pages
United States
eBook Edition