Subterranean Press

Skip to Main Content »

 
Shopping Cart (0 item)
My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You're currently on:

Coco Butternut eBook

Coco Butternut eBook

by Joe R. Lansdale

Availability: In stock

$3.99
-
+
$3.99
 

Coco Butternut marks the always-welcome return of Joe R. Lansdale’s dysfunctional duo: Hap Collins and Leonard Pine. As usual, wherever Hap and Leonard go, trouble seems to already be there, awaiting their arrival. And in the case of this twisty, hilarious, and heartfelt new novella, Lansdale sends his heroes to Oak Rest mortuary and cemetery to grapple with the living and the dead—both canine and human.

When the mummified corpse of a beloved prize-winning dachshund named Coco Butternut is stolen from her final resting place, Hap and Leonard are hired by the owner to get her body back. The job is straightforward: they must simply exchange a bag full of cash for the missing pooch’s mummy. But they can feel something’s not on the up-and-up, and how right they are.

With assistance from Hap’s significant other, Brett, and his daughter, Chance, Hap and Leonard are soon embroiled in a gripping mystery tied to the dark secrets lurking beneath the hallowed ground of Oak Rest cemetery. In his inimitable style, and at the top of his game, here Lansdale gives us a highly enjoyable new entry in the ongoing adventures of Hap and Leonard. Fans of Hap and Leonard’s, whether of their fictional outings or the Sundance TV show (or more likely, both), won’t want to miss this treat.

From Publishers Weekly:

"Lansdale (Honky Tonk Samurai) is without peer when it comes to this kind of tale, and the result is an infectious, darkly funny slice of weirdness."

From Kirkus Reviews:

"[T}he slide from fizzy East Texas comedy to deeper waters is so deftly managed that you'll be chuckling all the way to the graveyard."

Additional Information

Authors Lansdale, Joe R.
Artists Laager, Ken
Type Novella
Edition ebook
ISBN 978-1-59606-804-9
Year 2017
Month January
Print Status In Print
Series Hap and Leonard
eBook? Yes
Length 88 pages
EBook Rights Country United States
eBook Region United States

Location

Address:

P.O. Box 190106 Burton, Michigan 48519

Fax: